The Who to release 'Live at the Filmore East 1968' in April
YouTube/The Who Vevo

Who fans can begin saving their pennies in earnest for an upcoming archival live set. The legendary British rockers will celebrate the 50th anniversary of their famed Filmore East appearance with the release of The Who Live at the Filmore East 1968, which will drop April 20 via Universal.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Famers unveiled the news on Feb. 20 via the official website of The Who. The shows were recorded by former Who manager Kit Lambert, during a two-night stand back in 1968 between April 5 – April 6 in New York at promoter Bill Graham's famous Filmore East theater.

The Who's explosive performance at the legendary NYC venue has long been prized on the bootleg market. Originally recorded by The Who's former manager Kit Lambert, the 14-track set has been restored from the original tapes by Who sound engineer Bob Pridden and features a previously unreleased rendition of Eddie Cochran's "C'Mon Everybody" as well as a rare cover of the late great Allen Toussaint's "Fortune Teller.”

Live at the Filmore East includes classic Who singles like “I Can't Explain” and “Happy Jack,” as well as early live staples such as “Summertime Blues” and “Shakin' All Over.” The show culminates with a fiery 33-minute version of The Who's 1965 trademark anthem “My Generation.”

Live at the Filmore East is available for preorder here in 2-CD and 3-LP editions. See below for full track listings.

While bandmate Pete Townshend takes a sabbatical, Who frontman and founding member Roger Daltrey will embark on a run of solo U.S. winter shows, which will launch with a two-night stand between March 7 – March 10 in Las Vegas at The Joint at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino and wrap up March 15 in Oakland, Calif., at Fox Theater. Daltrey will also return to the U.S. for a summer concert series to perform The Who's landmark rock opera “Tommy” in its entirety with an orchestra, beginning June 8 in Bethel, N.Y., at Bethel Woods Center for the Arts and wrapping up July 8 in Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, at Blossom Music Center. Get your tickets Roger Daltrey tickets now at AXS.

For all the latest details on The Who, click here. For more information on Roger Daltrey, click here and for Pete Townshend, click here.

The Who Live at the Fillmore East 1968 CD track listing:

Disc One:
1. "Summertime Blues"
2. "Fortune Teller"
3. "Tattoo"
4. "Little Billy"
5. "I Can’t Explain"
6. "Happy Jack"
7. "Relax"
8. "I'm A Boy"
9. "A Quick One"
10. "My Way"
11. "C'mon Everybody"
12. "Shakin' All Over"
13. "Boris The Spider"

Disc Two:
1. "My Generation"