'The X Factor UK': Watch James Arthur and Anne-Marie debut 'Rewrite the Stars'
The X Factor UK YouTube

James Arthur and Anne-Marie delivered a worldwide debut performance of their “Rewrite the Stars” collab on night one of “The X Factor UK” season 15 finals, which aired last night (Dec. 2) in the U.S. on AXS TV. The song hails from The Greatest Showman: Reimagined cover album, which dropped on Nov. 16.

The SSE Arena, Wembley stage was decked out in a cosmic-themed backdrop, simulating a starry night sky behind the pair of singers as they performed the song Zac Efron and Zendaya’s lovestruck characters sang to each other in the film.

Arthur and Anne-Marie were dressed in period-style clothes, with Anne-Marie wearing a flowing pink ball gown. She floated down from the ceiling on a big swing to join Arthur on stage as they sang about not being able to be with the one they love. Their back-to-back ending pose mimicked the ending of the music video they released for the track, ahead of their “X Factor UK” debut.

Arthur notably won “The X Factor UK” in season nine, back in 2012. After his "Rewrite the Stars" performance, he joked with host Dermot O’Leary that he felt like he was back in the competition performing in the finals. The British native pop star released a series of singles this year, presumed to be from his highly-anticipated follow-up to his 2016 album Back From the Edge. His third single, “Empty Space,” was released in October, along with a still video. The "Say You Won't Let Go" singer also returned to "The X Factor" to perform the single, during the week three live results show.

In addition to “Empty Space” and “Rewrite the Stars,” Arthur posted an acoustic cover of “I’ll Never Love Again” from “A Star Is Born” on YouTube.

Other guest performers on night one of “The X Factor UK” include George Ezra and Emeli Sande, who sang with season 15 contenders Anthony Russell and Dalton Harris, respectively.

“The X Factor UK” season 15 finale will air in the U.S. tonight (Dec. 3) at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT on AXS TV.