TV renewals: 'Lip Sync Battle,' 'Beat Shazam,' Simon Cowell on 'America's Got Talent'
Lip Snyc Battle/YouTube

Paramount Network's "Lip Sync Battle" and Fox's "Beat Shazam" have been renewed for additional seasons. Meanwhile, Simon Cowell has renewed his multi-year deal with NBC to continue as a judge and executive producer for "America's Got Talent."

LL Cool J and Chrissy Teigen host the Emmy-nominated reality show "Lip Sync Battle," which has been renewed for a fifth season. "Lip Sync Battle" features various celebrities competing over who can do the best lip sync performances of hit songs. The fifth season of "Lip Sync Battle" will have 12 episodes and will premiere sometime in 2019. "Lip Sync Battle" is executive produced by Casey Patterson of Casey Patterson Entertainment, Jay Peterson of Matador Content, actor/filmmaker John Krasinski, actor/comedian Stephen Merchant, LL Cool J and 8 Million Plus Productions. Celebrities who were on the fourth season of "Lip Sync Battle" included Rita Ora, Charlie XCX, Luis Fonsi, Joan Smalls, Pete Davidson and Michael Bolton.

The "Lip Sync Battle" franchise has expanded to include Nickelodeon's""Lip Sync Battle Shorties," featuring kids lip-syncing pop songs in celebration of their favorite artists. Carnival Cruise Lines also has a "Lip Sync Battle" show, and there are several countries that have their own versions of "Lip Sync Battle." 

Jamie Foxx hosts the game show "Beat Shazam," which has contestants trying beat the clock in identifying popular songs based on hearing only a few seconds of the songs. "Beat Shazam" has been renewed for a third season, which is expected to air in the summer. The show has had celebrity guests, including Smokey Robinson, Bolton and Shaquille O'Neal. "Beat Shazam" was created by Jeff Apploff and Wes Kauble and is produced by Apploff Entertainment and MGM Television in association with Shazam. Foxx, Mark Burnett, Jeff Apploff, Barry Poznick, Rich Riley and Lauren Zalaznick serve as executive producers.

Former "American Idol" judge Cowell joined the "America's Got Talent" judging panel in 2016 to replace Howard Stern. The other "America's Got Talent" judges are Howie Mandel, Mel B and Heidi Klum, who all attended Cowell's Hollywood Walk of Fame star dedication ceremony on Aug. 22, along with former "America's Got Talent" champ Grace VanderWaal; "American Idol" alumni Kelly Clarkson, Adam Lambert and Katharine McPhee; and "X Factor" alumni Louis Tomlinson, Leona Lewis and Ally Brooke. "America's Got Talent," which launched in 2006 and airs in the summer, is hosted by Tyra Banks. Cowell is also a judge and executive producer on "Britain's Got Talent" and the U.K. edition of "The X Factor," which is televised in the U.S. on AXS TV. Cowell created the "Got Talent" and "X Factor" franchises, and he co-owns the “Got Talent” franchise with co-producers FremantleMedia North America. Cowell, Sam Donnelly, Jason Raff, Trish Kinane and Richard Wallace are the executive producers of "America's Got Talent."

Cowell is also a judge and executive producer of NBC's "America's Got Talent: The Champions," an upcoming spinoff show that will feature past "America's Got Talent" winners, as well as winners from "Got Talent" shows in other countries, competing against each other. The premiere date for "America's Got Talent: The Champions" is to be announced, but NBC says that the show will air in the time slot that "The Voice" has when "The Voice" is on hiatus.

Cowell said in a statement about his contract renewal: "I want to thank NBC for their continued passion and belief for 'America's Got Talent' over the past few years. Without NBC, we wouldn't be making 'Got Talent' and I'm very proud to work with them. Together, with a fantastic production team, we have been able to attract the best talent in the world. I'm very excited for the next few years."