Watch: Metallica perform 'Cyanide' at 2018 North American tour launch
YouTube/Aaron Halvorson

Metallica kicked off the North American leg of their Worldwired Tour on Sept. 2 in Madison, Wisconsin, at Kohl Center. The thrash metal giants rocked fans with a powerful 18-song setlist, packed with greatest hits and beloved album tracks, including the first live performance of their single “Cyanide” on the current world trek.

Blabbermouth reports on Sept. 3 that the Rock and Roll Hall of Famer's soldout show marked the band's first-ever performance at Kohl Center and first concert in Madison since May 2, 2004, during their Madly In Anger With The World Tour. The current world romp is in continued support of the latest chart-topping studio album Hardwired... to Self-Destruct.

The nine-time Grammy winners last dusted off “Cyanide” on Sept. 19, 2015 at Rock in Rio 30. The song was the third single from their 2008 studio album Death Magnetic.

Fans who missed the show can check out the action via fan-shot footage posted Sunday on YouTube. The clip opens with howling feedback before launching into the single's thunderous intro with frontman James Hetfield playing cheerleader prior to the opening verse, singing, “Sleep and dream of this/Death angel's kiss/Brings final bliss/Completely.”

Metallica recently offered fans a free MP3 download of their city's concert with each ticket purchased - for more details, click here. Check out HD footage of Metallica's Rob Trujillo and Kirk Hammett jamming on Garbage's “Stupid Girl” at Kohl Center here and watch the live 2018 debut performance of “Cyanide” above.

The “Enter Sandman” hitmakers will continue their Worldwired Tour on Sept. 4 in Minneapolis at Target Center with the North American leg slated to wrap up Mar. 13, 2019 in Grand Rapids, Mich., at Van Andel Arena. Grab your tickets now at AXS.

See the full setlist for Metallica's Kohl Center show below. For all the latest details on Metallica, click here.

Metallica, Madison, WI, Kohl Center, Sept. 2, 2018, setlist:

01. Hardwired
02. Atlas, Rise!
03. Seek & Destroy
04. Cyanide
05. Fade To Black
06. Now That We're Dead
07. Confusion
08. For Whom The Bell Tolls
09. Halo On Fire
10. Last Caress (MISFITS cover)
11. Fuel
12. Moth Into Flame
13. Sad But True
14. One
15. Master Of Puppets


16. Spit Out The Bone
17. Nothing Else Matters
18. Enter Sandman