Winter Olympics 2018 predictions: Biathlon
YouTube/IBU TV

Never before in the history of the Olympic Winter Games has the United States earned a medal in the sport of biathlon. Things have the potential to change at the 2018 Olympic Winter Games in Pyeongchang.

At 36 years of age, Lowell Bailey is set to participate in his fourth Olympic Winter Games. A veteran of the United States national biathlon team, Bailey won the gold medal in the men’s 20km individual at the 2017 World Biathlon Championships in Hochfilzen, Austria and won the silver medal in the men’s 10km sprint at a World Cup in Pyeongchang on March 3, 2017.

On the women’s side, Susan Dunklee is a medal contender after winning the silver medal in the women’s 12.5 km mass start at the 2017 World Biathlon Championships. However Bailey and Dunklee will face stiff competition from formidable biathletes from France, Germany, Finland and Norway.

Two biathletes could not just be stars of biathlon, but stars of the entire 2018 Olympic Winter Games. It is entirely possible that France’s Martin Fourcade could win five gold medals in men’s biathlon and that Germany’s Laura Dahlmeier could win five gold medals in women’s biathlon. Who gets the sixth gold medal could come down to an interesting battle on Feb. 20 in the mixed biathlon relay competition.

If Fourcade and Dahlmeier dominate in Pyeongchang, they will join Norway’s Ole Einar Bjorndalen as the greatest biathletes of all-time. Bjorndalen, who won four Olympic gold medals in biathlon at the 2002 Olympic Winter Games in Salt Lake City, currently has the record for the most medals by an Olympian in the history of the Olympic Winter Games with 13.

Here are AXS' Olympic predictions in the sport of biathlon:

Men’s 10km Sprint Prediction
GOLD—Martin Fourcade—France
SILVER—Johannes Thingnes Boe—Norway
BRONZE—Julian Eberhard—Austria
Event: Feb. 11-- 6:15 am ET/3:15 am PT

Men’s 12.5km Pursuit Prediction
GOLD—Martin Fourcade—France
SILVER—Johannes Thignes Boe—Norway
BRONZE—Emil Hegle Svendsen--Norway
Event: Feb. 12-- 7 am ET/4 am PT

Men’s 15km Mass Start Prediction
GOLD—Martin Fourcade—France
SILVER—Johannes Thignes Boe—Norway
BRONZE—Benedikt Doll--Germany
Event: Feb. 18--6:15 am ET/3:15 am PT  

Men’s 20km Individual Prediction
GOLD—Martin Fourcade—France
SILVER—Johannes Thignes Boe—Norway
BRONZE—Ondrej Moravec—Czech Republic
Event: Feb. 15--6 am ET/3 am PT

Men’s 4x7.5km Relay Prediction 
GOLD—France
SILVER—Norway
BRONZE—O.A.R.
Event: Feb. 23--6:15 am ET/3:15 am PT

Women’s 7.5km Sprint Prediction 
GOLD—Laura Dahlmeier—Germany
SILVER—Kaisa Markarainen—Finland
BRONZE—Anastasiya Merkushyna—Ukraine
Event: Feb. 10--6:15 am ET/3:15am PT

Women’s 10km Pursuit Prediction
GOLD—Laura Dahlmeier—Germany
SILVER—Kaisa Markarainen—Finland
BRONZE—Dorothea Weirer—Italy
Event: Feb. 12--5:10 am ET/2:10 am PT

Women’s 12.5km Mass Start Prediction
GOLD—Laura Dahlmeier—Germany
SILVER—Kaisa Markarainen—Finland
BRONZE—Iryna Kryuko—Belarus
Event: Feb. 17--6:15 am ET/3:15 am PT

Women’s 15km Individual Prediction 
GOLD—Laura Dahlmeier—Germany
SILVER—Valj Semerenko—Ukraine
BRONZE—Yuliia Dzhima—Ukraine
Event: Feb. 14--6:05 am PT/3:05 am PT

Women’s 4x6km Relay Prediction 
GOLD—Germany
SILVER—France
BRONZE—Ukraine
Event: Feb. 22--6:15 am PT/3:15 am PT

Mixed Biathlon Relay Prediction  
GOLD—Germany
SILVER—France
BRONZE—Italy
Event: Feb. 20--6:15 am PT/3:15 am PT