Winter Olympics 2018 winners: Luge

For the third time in the history of the Olympic Winter Games, the United States has won an Olympic silver medal in luge. Chris Mazdzer made American sports history on Feb. 11 by becoming the very first American man to win an Olympic medal in men's singles luge. 

Related: 2018 Winter Olympics Predictions: Luge 

The fact Mazdzer reached the Olympic podium is stunning. He did not reach the top 10 at the 2017 World Luge Championships, was not in the top 10 in the World Cup standings over the last two years or the World Cup in Pyeongchang last year. 

Mazdzer had a phenomenal third run that put him into medal contention. He posted a time of 47.534 seconds, which temporarily set a course record at the Alpensia Sliding Centre, before it was broken by Dominik Fischnaller of Italy and Wolfgang Kindl of Austria in the fourth run. Kindl's teammate David Gleirscher of Austria won the gold medal and Johannes Ludwig of Germany won the bronze medal. 

Twice before the United States has won Olympic silver in luge, their best result as a nation in the history of the Olympic Winter Games. Chris Thorpe and Gordon Scheer won a silver medal in doubles luge at the 1998 Olympic Winter Games in Nagano and Mark Grimmette and Brian Martin won a silver medal in doubles luge at the 2002 Olympic Winter Games in Salt Lake City.

On Feb. 13, Natalie Geisenberger of Germany became the second female luger in Olympic history to win back-to-back gold medals. She also won the gold medal in women's luge at the 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi before claiming the top spot on the podium at the Alpensia Sliding Centre. It was also a historic race in the history of Canadian luge. Alex Gough became the first Canadian luger ever to win an Olympic medal as she won bronze. The top American was opening ceremonies flag bearer Erin Hamlin, who finished in sixth place.   

On Feb. 14, in men's doubles luge, Tobias Wendl and Tobias Arlt of Germany successfully defended their Olympic gold medal from the 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi. The top Americans were Justin Krewson and Andrew Sherk in eighth place. 

In mixed team relay luge, Germany successfully defended their gold medal from the 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi. It will be a memorable silver medal for Canada. The Canadian team was temporarily awarded the bronze medal from the 2014 Olympic Winter Games a few days before Christmas this past year as the Russian lugers were stripped of their medals. However, Russia got their medals back as they successfully won their appeal with the Court of Arbitration for Sport. The United States finished in fourth place, as they were .103 seconds back of the bronze medalists from Austria. AXS Sports successfully predicted that Germany would win gold and Austria would medal.  

Here are all the winners in luge events at the Winter Olympics 2018:
(results will be posted after each event)

Men's Luge:
GOLD: David Gleirscher (Austria) 3:10.702
SILVER: Chris Mazdzer (United States) 3:10.728
BRONZE: Johannes Ludwig (Germany) 3:10.932 

Women's Luge:
GOLD: Natalie Geisenberger (Germany) 3:05.232
SILVER: Dajana Eitberger (Germany) 3:05.599
BRONZE: Alex Gough (Canada) 3:05.644 

Men's Doubles Luge:
GOLD: Tobias Wendl & Tobias Arlt (Germany) 1:31.697
SILVER: Peter Penz & Georg Fischler (Austria) 1:31.785
BRONZE: Toni Eggert & Sascha Benecken (Germany) 1:31.987

Mixed Team Relay Luge: 
GOLD: Germany 2:24.517
SILVER: Canada 2:24.872
BRONZE: Austria 2:24.988